1

I was playing with the Bridges, Castles and Bazaars and Die Belargerer (a rerelease of The Siege with 6 tiles).

If you have one in a city, it causes the city to score 1 point per tile and 1 per pennant if it is completed. Now Castles Score what ever the next finished feature in it's 6 tile influence scores.

At the end of game a besieged city is worth 2 cities to a farmer and a castle is worth a +1.

So 3 of the 6 new tiles can be used to create the 'clam' cities you can use for castles.

The way we played is that by making it a castle, it is a castle and ignore the Siege tile from then on.

Is this the correct way to interpret the rules?

1

When using castles, if a 'clam city' is completed you then make the decision to either score it as a city or turn it into a castle. If it becomes a castle, then no scoring relating to cities applies to it (and scoring for the castle does not occur until and unless a neighboring feature is completed). Since the scoring of siege tiles only applies to cities, it does not affect the scoring of a castle. A castle is worth 4 points to a farmer.

Link to official rules:

http://zmangames.com/rulebooks/Carcassonne_Exp8.pdf

  • Thanks! I was thinking along those lines but I'm glad to see it is backed up by the rules. – bowlturner Nov 25 '14 at 13:34

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.