0

The card Haunted Plate Mail tells "Activate this ability only if you control no creatures."

I want to make sure I understood it right: Only if you control no Creatures on the Battlefield?

  • 1
    can you control creatures anywhere else? – Novarg Nov 28 '14 at 13:51
  • @Novarg My guess: No. – Damaskox Nov 28 '14 at 16:01
2

The rules for permanents, specifically 110.2, says

A permanent's owner is the same as the owner of the card that represents it (unless it's a token; see rule 110.5a). A permanent's controller is, by default, the player under whose control it entered the battlefield. Every permanent has a controller.

Only permanents have controllers, and 110.1 says "A permanent is a card or token on the battlefield," so yes, "creatures you control" means "creatures on the battlefield that you control."

In addition, it's worth mentioning that rule 109.2 says

If a spell or ability uses a description of an object that includes a card type or subtype, but doesn't include the word "card," "spell," "source," or "scheme," it means a permanent of that card type or subtype on the battlefield.

Since Haunted Plate Mail just says "creatures," it is referring to creature permanents on the battlefield.

| improve this answer | |

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.