3

If my opponent casts Switcheroo targeting my 3/3 and his 1/1 and I immediately cast Shock to kill his 1/1 will he still gain control of my 3/3?

8

No, per the Gatherer Ruling:

If one of the target creatures is an illegal target when Switcheroo resolves, the exchange won't happen. If both creatures are illegal targets, Switcheroo will be countered.

This is because in order to preform an exchange there must actually be something to exchange, you aren't allowed to exchange something for nothing.

701.8a A spell or ability may instruct players to exchange something (for example, life totals or control of two permanents) as part of its resolution. When such a spell or ability resolves, if the entire exchange can’t be completed, no part of the exchange occurs.

| improve this answer | |

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.