7

Can creatures or creature tokens be tapped for mana the turn they entered the battlefield when casting a spell with convoke or do they need haste?

For example, can I cast Raise the Alarm for 2 soldier tokens, then on that same turn tap the soldiers to help pay for a Stoke the Flames.

marked as duplicate by Colin D, Rainbolt, murgatroid99, diego, bengoesboom Dec 5 '14 at 22:43

This question has been asked before and already has an answer. If those answers do not fully address your question, please ask a new question.

  • @Diego Your proposed edit introduced poor grammar where there was none, so I rejected it. – Rainbolt Dec 5 '14 at 15:02
  • @Rainbolt What happened is that Diego attempted to just add card links; using the wording that was originally in the post. But I made an edit at the same time, which added the card links AND fixed the grammar issues. – GendoIkari Dec 5 '14 at 15:12
  • @Gendolkari I wish I had taken a screenshot, since that's obviously a bug. – Rainbolt Dec 5 '14 at 15:14
  • @Rainbolt it's not a bug, it's just a merge conflict - they have to use some protocol to resolve the conflict manually, and they just use "most-recently-approved-edit overwrites" - they could use something like a diff and then apply the diffs, but this is just simpler. – corsiKa Dec 5 '14 at 15:40
  • That calls into question whether or not two questions with the same answer are the same question. – corsiKa Dec 5 '14 at 20:01
9

Yes, they can. You are probably thinking of the "summoning sickness rule", which does not apply here:

302.6. A creature‘s activated ability with the tap symbol or the untap symbol in its activation cost can‘t be activated unless the creature has been under its controller‘s control continuously since his or her most recent turn began. A creature can‘t attack unless it has been under its controller‘s control continuously since his or her most recent turn began. This rule is informally called the "summoning sicknes" rule.

So this rule doesn't prevenet creatures for being tapped for any reason other than paying the activation cost of that creature or attacking with that creature.

  • This is one of my favorite tricks. Nothing like summoning tokens so you can tap them to pay a cost. It never seems to be expected. – Pow-Ian Dec 5 '14 at 14:51
  • Along the same lines, Gilt-Leaf Archdruid can tap itself the turn it enters the battlefield. – ikegami Dec 5 '14 at 14:56
  • Along ikegami's line, I often hear the rule (302.6) summarized as "it just can't tap itself, other things can tap it". Of course, this isn't completely accurate as the rules and cards like gilt-leaf show. – corsiKa Dec 5 '14 at 15:44
  • @Pow-Ian though summoning the tokens often costs at least as much as you save by using them for convoke! Still, it is possible and legal. – David Z Dec 5 '14 at 15:54
  • @David Z, not always. My favorite combo with this: Battle Screech - If you have a white creature in play, you can cast it, and immediately flash it back. The tokens are used to pay the cost. So I go from having a single white creature to having 1 white creature and 4 tokens. It never fails to surprise. – Pow-Ian Dec 5 '14 at 15:56
1

Yes you can use creatures with summoning sickness to pay for convoke costs. Summoning sickness means:

302.6. A creature's activated ability with the tap symbol or the untap symbol in its activation cost can't be activated unless the creature has been under its controller's control continuously since his or her most recent turn began. A creature can't attack unless it has been under its controller's control continuously since his or her most recent turn began. This rule is informally called the "summoning sickness" rule.

Casting a spell using convoke is neither attacking, nor activating an ability with a tap or untap symbol in its cost. Convoke is just another way to pay for the spell in addition to tapping lands like you normally would.

Note that while tapping the soldiers helps pay for the cost of the spell it isn't actually adding any mana to your mana pool, you tap them instead of paying mana.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.