Does a creature become an artifact creature when an artifact is equipped onto it or just a creature with an artifact on it?


No, an artifact creature is specifically a creature that has "artifact" written in its type line. See Platinum Emperion for an example; it specifically says "artifact creature". A creature could also become an artifact creature through an effect that says it changes the type, such as Mycosynth Lattice. But attaching an equipment to a creature will not affect the creature's types unless that equipment specifically says something like "equipped creature is an artifact in addition to its other types" such as Silverskin Armor.

  • 1
    e.g. Silverskin Armor
    – Hao Ye
    Dec 7 '14 at 18:34

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.