2

A gate and a monster appear when returning back to Arkham from Other world.

I want to close the first gate which I came from, so I wait a round.

Does the other gate draw me in next round or can I close the first gate before the other gate draws me in?

  • It's a little unclear, but you don't generally have to wait a turn to try to close the gate (although you can certainly retry if you fail the first time) - you should come out of the gate during your movement phase, then attempt to close it during the Arkham encounter phase. – Cascabel Dec 11 '14 at 19:31
  • 1
    Also, you say "when returning" but I think you actually mean during the next mythos phase? I know there are encounters that can cause a gate and a monster to appear, but in order to have a normal encounter at that location, there has to not be a gate there. You're not trying to have a normal encounter instead of closing the gate, are you? – Cascabel Dec 11 '14 at 19:32
8

I think the "Gate and a monster" effect still needs to follow the basic rules on placing a gate. This means if you are at a location with an Elder Sign, the gate doesn't open, and if you are at a location with an open gate, then a monster surge happens.

So, you are on a location with an open gate, and you have explored it. A gate opens in your location. This means a monster surge happens, and no second gate.

  • 3
    There can never be 2 gates at the same location at the same time. – GendoIkari Dec 11 '14 at 16:28

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.