I play Magic 2014 - Duels of the Planeswalkers (DotP) on Steam. I understand all of the basics except for one thing! In a recent battle, my turn started and I did not draw a card. The game went directly to my End phase. My Main and Combat phases were skipped. This happened for five or more turns in a row!

Are there any cards in Magic 2014 DotP that stop a player from drawing cards, or skip a draw step? Are there any settings that could cause my Main and Combat phases to be skipped when my hand is empty? Is this a bug?

  • Uh... wait, what? I can't figure out what you're asking here. The way you draw a card in Magic is that you pick it up from the top of the deck and put it in your hand. Or are you asking about Duels of the Planeswalkers instead?
    – David Z
    Dec 14 '14 at 12:54
  • Please edit to clarify / add more details.
    – GendoIkari
    Dec 14 '14 at 14:48
  • Ya, I was talking about Magic 2014 : Duels of Planewalkers (Android)......
    – jamius19
    Dec 14 '14 at 21:00
  • 1
    @jamius19 Right, but... are you saying the game didn't let you draw a card for several consecutive turns in one game?
    – Cascabel
    Dec 14 '14 at 23:52
  • 4
    Could you send add a screenshot of what you're seeing at that point in the game? This sounds like a bug, but it might be that your opponent or you have played a card that's affecting your draw step (don't think there are any of these in DotP2014, but there might be).
    – deworde
    Dec 16 '14 at 16:07

At the start of your turn, you draw 1 card. In a two player game, the start player does not draw a card at the start of his first turn.

If a computer version of MTG did not let you draw a card at the start of each turn, then either there was some sort of bug, or it was a special mode that changes the normal rules of Magic.

  • yap....Its probably a bug.......I cant pull out a card even if I've got plenty of lands..... so many turns are wasted
    – jamius19
    Dec 14 '14 at 20:58
  • 3
    @jamius19 What do you mean "even if I've got plenty of lands"? You seem to be misunderstanding something, but it's not clear what. How many lands you have has nothing to do with drawing a card at the start of your turn.
    – GendoIkari
    Dec 14 '14 at 21:29
  • @jamius19 My best guess is that you're thinking that, as long as there's nothing you can play in your hand, you should be allowed to draw another card when you want, not just one per turn? In that case, you should definitely have specifically said so in your question, but I guess this answer does answer your question: it's not a bug, you get one draw per turn. Getting stuck with nothing to do happens sometimes, though building your deck well makes it less likely.
    – Cascabel
    Dec 15 '14 at 5:52
  • I know that I can draw one card per turn! Think as I've got 7 untapped lands.... This turn ends without any creature in my hand! My opponent summons creature(es) and attacks.... His turn ends..... My turn starts.... But as no card is drawn from the library, it directly goes to the End phase without Combat or Main....Then my turn end..... And this keeps happening so on for 5/6 turns or more! @Jefromi
    – jamius19
    Dec 15 '14 at 10:49
  • 1
    @jamius19 The confusing part is that you keep mentioning that you have untapped lands... this piece of information is not related in any way to drawing cards, so I don't see how it relates to the question.
    – GendoIkari
    Dec 15 '14 at 15:16

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.