3

The rule book specifically prohibits advancing cards that cannot be advanced.

Ice generally cannot be advanced but there are a few exceptions.

Does the exception apply when it's face down?

What I'm asking is: Can you advance an advancable ice that is unrezzed?

5

Yes, unless otherwise noted on the card text.
I couldn't find this specifically addressed in the FAQ, but it's pretty easy to reason out the answer if you look at all the Ice that can be advanced. For example, several cards have something like this:

Tyrant can be advanced only while rezzed

This implies that the others can be advanced while unrezzed. To really drive the point home, Wormhole says:

Wormhole can be advanced and its rez cost is lowered by 3 for each advancement token on it.

Image of Tyrant card

  • 1
    Those are good examples, but all you needed was this: Note: If a card’s text box says that the card can be advanced, the card can be advanced even when the card is unrezzed. Rulebook, page 14 – Deo Dec 30 '16 at 22:33
  • Good point! My only defense is that perhaps the rules pdf has been updated in the last 2 years, but it's at least equally likely that I just didn't search hard enough. :) – Andrew Vandever Dec 31 '16 at 6:58

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.