I'll admit we've had a lot of trouble with the Battlewise Hoplite the last few games and what affects it and what doesn't. If he has a Battlewise Hoplite in play and I play a Crippling Blight does his Battlewise Hoplite get a +1/+1 counter?


Heroic only triggers when "you" (the controller of the creature with heroic) cast a spell. So no, your opponent's Battlewise Hoplite will not trigger if you cast Crippling Blight on it.

Aura spells do always target when cast, so it will trigger heroic if you cast an aura spell and target a creature that you control with heroic.

303.4a An Aura spell requires a target, which is defined by its enchant ability.

  • Er, I think OP's situation is if a player casts Crippling Blight on another player's Battlewise Hoplite. – Hao Ye Dec 21 '14 at 16:04
  • @HaoYe I missed/forgot that Heroic only triggers when you cast a spell, not when any spell is cast. Will edit. – GendoIkari Dec 21 '14 at 16:11

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.