2

In the game Pandemic, after completing your 4 actions the next step is to draw 2 player cards. If already holding 7 in hand, does the rule force you to draw additional cards and subsequently discard (or play event cards) to get back to 7? Or do you so the draw?

2

You must draw, then discard.

After doing 4 actions, draw the top 2 cards together from the Player Deck.

There's nothing about the draw being optional in the rules.

  • 1
    Side note: a really big reason it's important that you can't decline to draw is that you lose the game when you run out of cards in the player deck. Skipping draws would potentially let you win instead! – Cascabel Dec 27 '14 at 0:44
  • @Jefromi, I presumed the OP knew that since it's surely what prompted the question he asked. – ikegami Dec 27 '14 at 0:59
  • I thought he might just not have wanted to "waste" cards by discarding them. – Cascabel Dec 27 '14 at 1:08
  • @Jefromi, The only reason it's a waste is because it ends the game faster. Otherwise, draw 2 then discard 2 is purely beneficial. In fact, it's so beneficial that in Magic, you have spells that do exactly that, even though you lose the game if you run out of cards like in Pandemic. – ikegami Dec 27 '14 at 1:09
  • I didn't say I think that, just that it was a guess based on the OP's phrasing (e.g. being forced to play event cards you might want to save). It is easy to see discarding location cards as a waste of cards you might use to cure. – Cascabel Dec 27 '14 at 1:52

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.