Can a kinged piece jump another king piece?

  • 1
    If a kinged piece could not be jumped, how would the game end?
    – jamesdlin
    Dec 28, 2014 at 17:34

2 Answers 2


As was indicated by @JaysonSmith, a king can always be jumped by another king. This holds for any variant of draughts/checkers.

The privileges that a king obtains differ by variant, however.

  • backward movement: in all variants, kings can move backward, but men cannot.
  • backward capture: in all variants, kings can jump backward, but men cannot for American/English checkers/draughts, Italian, Spanish, Czech and Thai draughts.
  • long range movement and capture: a king can move and capture long ranged (like a bishop in chess) for International, Frisian, Russian, Spanish, Czech and Thai draughts, as well as for Pool checkers, whereas men are short ranged in all variants.
  • invulnerable being captured by men: a king cannot be jumped by men in Italian draughts.
  • 1
    Great answer, TemplateRex! You even covered the rules of Dominican Checkers that I used to play, called Taperos. Dec 29, 2014 at 22:03

Yes, a kinged-piece can certainly jump another kinged-piece. In fact, having a kinged-piece does NOT make it invulnerable to being 'jump'. This means that even a NON-kinged-piece can jump a kinged-piece. The only advantage to kinging a piece is that it is able to move both Forward and Backward. A non-kinged-piece can be severely limited in jumping due to this rule. Thus, if a non-kinged piece were in position to jump three opponent's pieces in a row, but the second jump required the non-kinged piece to jump backwards, the non-kinged piece would have to resort to only jumping the first opponent's piece.

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .