This question already has an answer here:
I was playing Texas Holdem last night with some friends at my house and this was the hand we were dealt:
My cards 7♠ 6♦
His cards 10♠ 7♥
Cards on table 6♠ 8♠ Q♠ J♠ 2♠
Odd hand. Everyone else folded after the flop. Who would have won?
My arguments, 1. Because there is a flush on the table our pocket cards are void and we split the pot. 2. Because the Queen is the highest ♠ card on the table it is shared by both of us so we split the pot. I thought that in a flush the only card that matters is the highest for example if he had a pocket K♠ he would have won.
His argument, was that since his 10♠ is higher then my 7♠ he won and takes it all.
We were all confused and the vote between players was split 50/50 so i said house rules and split the pot. He got pissed and left the table and didn't come back. Was i in the wrong? Any help is appreciated.