2

I know that in basic version of SoC each settlement must be at least two roads away from any other settlement. In Seafarers expansions you can build ships, so my question is - does this 'roads rule' also applies to ships? I haven't found anything about this in instruction for expansion.

In other words, can you build two settlements like this:

O is the settlement, - is the ship

enter image description here

  • 1
    Would be a sweet pair of settlements, though, with a #2 brick and a desert. – Eric Wilson Jan 29 '15 at 15:30
  • It's just an example! :) – bartektartanus Jan 29 '15 at 15:34
6

It's pretty obviously NO.

Page 2 of the rules -

Except where noted below, Catan: Seafarers uses the same rules as The Settlers of Catan

On page 4

Shipping routes act as roads across water (or along the coast). You build and place ships in much the same way as roads

AND it specifically states

If your shipping route reaches a coastline, you can then build a new settlement on that coast, even if it is a new island. Of course, you must still obey the “distance rule” from basic Settlers, even if you are building on a new island.

So ships are 'water' roads and you still need two hex sides between settlements/cities

  • 2
    Absolutely correct here. Not that you'd want to build on the single corner of a desert anyway :) – Brian Robbins Jan 2 '15 at 14:35
  • This was just an example :) – bartektartanus Jan 2 '15 at 23:42

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.