1

If a city has two knights for one player and one knight for another, does the player with two knights get the double point bonus for that city?

closed as unclear what you're asking by Cascabel, bengoesboom, ConMan, diego, Joe W Jan 5 '15 at 21:08

Please clarify your specific problem or add additional details to highlight exactly what you need. As it's currently written, it’s hard to tell exactly what you're asking. See the How to Ask page for help clarifying this question. If this question can be reworded to fit the rules in the help center, please edit the question.

  • Can you clarify what you mean by double point bonus? I have never heard of this term before. – Hao Ye Jan 4 '15 at 17:15
  • By castle do you mean city? And... are you saying that the thing you were asking about doesn't actually exist, so there's no question to answer here anymore? – Cascabel Jan 4 '15 at 17:30
  • Yes - please delete! – user10411 Jan 4 '15 at 17:44
4

When the city is completed, the player(s)[1] with the most knights in the city gets points for the city in the amount of two per tile plus two per banner[2]. No other player receives any points for that city.

For example, when completing a three-tile city without banners, the player with two knights will receive 6 points, and the player with one knight will receive none, just like if there was only one knight in the city.


  1. In the event of a tie, each of the players tied for the most knights gets all of the points.
  2. Half that for incomplete cities at the end of the game.

A city is complete when it is surrounded by walls and there are no gaps in the walls or the city. There can be any number of sections in a city. A player who owns a knight in a completed city scores 2 points per tile in the city (count the tiles and not the sections). Each banner in the scored city also gives the player 2 points.

What if there are more than one follower on a completed road or city? With some clever tile placements, it is possible to connect road and city sections, resulting in a road with more than one thief or a city with more than one knight. The player with the most thieves or knights scores the totality of the points. In case of a tie, the tied players each score the points.

During the final scoring, incomplete roads, cities or monasteries are scored. A player who has a follower on an incomplete road, city or monastery scores 1 point per tile. For cities, each banner is also worth only 1 point. In case of a tie, use the same rules as for completed features.

(Emphasis in original)

  • My wife and I fought for hours about this rule. I pointed out this in the rule book. She admitted that my interpretation was exactly what was in the rule book, but that her interpretation was how we'd be playing. shrug – corsiKa Jan 5 '15 at 22:09
-1

If by double point you mean banner or other point influence in an expansion, yes. The winner of the meeple showdown wins it all, no divisions except in case of ties.

  • 1
    There's no division of points even when there is a tie. "In case of a tie, the tied players each score the points." More importantly, banner points aren't doubled for having two knights. (I don't know anything about influence.) – ikegami Jan 4 '15 at 20:36

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.