If a city has two knights for one player and one knight for another, does the player with two knights get the double point bonus for that city?

  • Can you clarify what you mean by double point bonus? I have never heard of this term before. – Hao Ye Jan 4 '15 at 17:15
  • By castle do you mean city? And... are you saying that the thing you were asking about doesn't actually exist, so there's no question to answer here anymore? – Cascabel Jan 4 '15 at 17:30
  • Yes - please delete! – user10411 Jan 4 '15 at 17:44

When the city is completed, the player(s)[1] with the most knights in the city gets points for the city in the amount of two per tile plus two per banner[2]. No other player receives any points for that city.

For example, when completing a three-tile city without banners, the player with two knights will receive 6 points, and the player with one knight will receive none, just like if there was only one knight in the city.

  1. In the event of a tie, each of the players tied for the most knights gets all of the points.
  2. Half that for incomplete cities at the end of the game.

A city is complete when it is surrounded by walls and there are no gaps in the walls or the city. There can be any number of sections in a city. A player who owns a knight in a completed city scores 2 points per tile in the city (count the tiles and not the sections). Each banner in the scored city also gives the player 2 points.

What if there are more than one follower on a completed road or city? With some clever tile placements, it is possible to connect road and city sections, resulting in a road with more than one thief or a city with more than one knight. The player with the most thieves or knights scores the totality of the points. In case of a tie, the tied players each score the points.

During the final scoring, incomplete roads, cities or monasteries are scored. A player who has a follower on an incomplete road, city or monastery scores 1 point per tile. For cities, each banner is also worth only 1 point. In case of a tie, use the same rules as for completed features.

(Emphasis in original)

  • My wife and I fought for hours about this rule. I pointed out this in the rule book. She admitted that my interpretation was exactly what was in the rule book, but that her interpretation was how we'd be playing. shrug – corsiKa Jan 5 '15 at 22:09

If by double point you mean banner or other point influence in an expansion, yes. The winner of the meeple showdown wins it all, no divisions except in case of ties.

  • 1
    There's no division of points even when there is a tie. "In case of a tie, the tied players each score the points." More importantly, banner points aren't doubled for having two knights. (I don't know anything about influence.) – ikegami Jan 4 '15 at 20:36

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.