2

Does the Instant Essence Scatter affect Artifact Creature spells such as Stuffy Doll?

  • "205.1. The type line is printed directly below the illustration. It contains the card’s card type(s). It also contains the card’s subtype(s) and supertype(s), if applicable." Stuffy Doll has two types: artifact and creature. As such, it is a creature. – ikegami Jan 6 '15 at 7:11
  • 1
    Note that it only affects Stuffy Doll spells, not Stuffy Doll permanents. – ikegami Jan 6 '15 at 15:48
4

Yes

From a ruling on the Essence Scatter Gatherer entry:

A "creature spell" is any spell with the type Creature, even if it has other types such as Artifact or Enchantment. Older cards of type Summon are also Creature spells.

  • Was this the case in the past for Remove Soul and Summon spells? As then Artifact Creatures were not Summon spells, while Summon Elf would be a summon spell. – Nick Jan 7 '15 at 15:09
  • @Nick The Oracle text on Remove Soul reads "Counter target creature spell." The Oracle text has precedence over the words written on the card, even in casual play. Other than card name, Remove Soul is identical to Essence Scatter. – Rainbolt Jan 7 '15 at 21:16

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.