5

I understand that if a morph card is on the battlefield at the end of the game, I have to reveal it to my opponent, but what if my opponent responds to me casting the morph with a counterspell. If I concede with the morph still on the stack, do I have to reveal it?

  • I wonder, you clearly read my answer to the other face-down question since you proposed an edit to it, what was unclear about the rule I quoted? – Hackworth Jan 20 '15 at 7:47
  • @Hackworth Re-reading the rule again, I guess the part i'm not clear on is the bit about 'face-down spell'. Is it referring to a spell on the stack? Or is it referring to instants/sorceries that are face down in the battlefield? – Peter MacDonald Jan 20 '15 at 7:56
  • 3
    "Spell" always implies a card on the stack, because spells can't exist anywhere else, see rule 111.1. On the battlefield, only permanents exist, not spells, see rule 110.1. – Hackworth Jan 20 '15 at 8:41
  • A spell is a card on the stack, or a copy of a card on the stack. – ikegami Jan 20 '15 at 19:22
14

Yes, you must reveal the card to all players.

707.9. If a face-down permanent moves from the battlefield to any other zone, its owner must reveal it to all players as he or she moves it. If a face-down spell moves from the stack to any zone other than the battlefield, its owner must reveal it to all players as he or she moves it. If a player leaves the game, all face-down permanents and spells owned by that player must be revealed to all players. At the end of each game, all face-down permanents and spells must be revealed to all players.

The other players must be able to check that you were allowed to play that card face-down. Otherwise, you could cheat by playing a non-morph card as a morph creature and never be forced to reveal that card.

  • 1
    Thanks for bolding it, the third time reading the rule, with the explanation above, it is pretty clear. – Peter MacDonald Jan 20 '15 at 16:23

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.