5

If I'm in Tokyo, and a player outside of Tokyo has Acid Attack, they will do one damage to me on their turn (even without rolling a claw). But will that damage from Acid Attack allow me to leave Tokyo (forcing the other play into Tokyo)?

Acid Attack reads

Deal 1 extra damage each turn (even if you don't otherwise attack).

7

In general, damage from cards are not considered attacks. For Acid Attack specifically, a search of the net shows the unanimous result that Acid Attack is not considered an attack. Since it's not an attack, you do not have the option of ceding.

4
  • The sites I skimmed had a lot of discussion before they came to a conclusion. Has there been ruling at a tournament or errata from the publisher? – KatieK Jan 22 '15 at 20:09
  • 1
    Like I said, it's well known that damage from cards are not attacks. I did not find any official post that contradicts that for this card, meaning the only official rules I could find says it's not an attack. And every single post I've seen agrees. – ikegami Jan 22 '15 at 20:28
  • Maybe a link to some of these unanimous posts? – BlueRaja - Danny Pflughoeft Jan 22 '15 at 22:41
  • Can't right now but simply searched for King of Tokyo Acid Attack – ikegami Jan 22 '15 at 23:08

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.