If I attack with a manifested (face down) card and my opponent declares blockers, is priority then passed to me so I can turn it face up for its mana cost, or must I turn it up after declaring attackers?

  • Are you just asking about whether you get priority during Declare Blockers or is there something specific about Manifest you want to know?
    – murgatroid99
    Jan 24 '15 at 6:28
  • To manifest a card is to put it into play face down; flipping it up is simply called turning it face up.
    – Cascabel
    Jan 24 '15 at 7:02
  • @Jefromi The word "flip" means something totally different. See all of these cards from Kamigawa Block.
    – Rainbolt
    Jan 26 '15 at 20:10
  • @Rainbolt Okay, I suppose I should have said "turning it face up is called turning it face up" - the point was that it's not called manifesting it.
    – Cascabel
    Jan 26 '15 at 20:25

Yes, you get priority during the Declare Blockers step. Rule 509 describes how the Declare Blockers step progresses, and rule 509.5 says

Fifth, the active player gets priority. Players may cast spells and activate abilities.

You can turn a manifested card face up any time you have priority, so that includes during the Declare Blockers phase. Rule 701.31b says

Any time you have priority, you may turn a manifested permanent you control face up. This is a special action that doesn't use the stack (see rule 115.2b). To do this, show all players that the card representing that permanent is a creature card and what its mana cost is, pay that cost, then turn the permanent face up.

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.