So I was playing a game and this card came out and we couldn't decide if by "Other Minotaur creatures" it means not this creature, or if it included it.

Also, we assumed that it would give Trample to Minotaurs as soon as it was cast, rather than when its summoning sickness had passed.

Please can someone clarify for me, thanks!

Rageblood Shaman

  • 7
    I'm wondering what your group thought that the word 'other' meant in this context? I can't see how they could have possibly worded it less ambiguously.
    – VolleyJosh
    Feb 5, 2015 at 17:09
  • 3
    That comment was intended mostly to be tongue-in-cheek; I agree that the original wording is basically unambiguous. But this isn't the first time that people on this site have had trouble with that usage of the word "other," like here, and here. I'm not actually suggesting that the wording should change, but it's not obvious to everyone.
    – murgatroid99
    Feb 5, 2015 at 17:51
  • 2
    Wow, pretty angry community on here. I guess you're not beginner friendly. I'll ask questions elsewhere. Apologies.
    – David Yell
    Feb 6, 2015 at 9:41
  • 3
    @DavidYell If you edit your question to explain why you and your friends think "other" could possibly mean "all", then I imagine you will get a more positive response. VolleyJosh commented about this within an hour after you posted, and you have yet to respond to him.
    – Rainbolt
    Feb 6, 2015 at 14:45
  • 7
    @DavidYell Some people might've been less than diplomatic, and the discussion got sidetracked, but I think a lot of people are just trying to figure out how to explain something that seems to them like it's just the meaning of the words on the card. Asking you how you read it would usually help with that - either you'd say "I thought it meant X" and answers could explain otherwise, or you'd say "oh duh that's what it says, never mind" and either way things would be clear for you.
    – Cascabel
    Feb 6, 2015 at 16:48

1 Answer 1


The Shaman has what is called a Static Ability. These kinds of abilities are active as long as their source is on the battlefield. So it will be active from the moment the Shaman enters the battlefield until the moment it leaves.

As for what it effects, "Other Minotaurs" means exactly that, any Minotaur other than the one with the ability gets the +1/+1 and trample. If you happen to control 2 of the Shamans they will each effect the other one, but they will not effect themselves.

In order for an ability like that to grant itself that ability it needs to drop the "Other" and just say "Minotaur creatures you control get +1/+1 and have trample." An example of this template is almost any Sliver.

Also note that the Shaman already has trample, so the part of the ability that you should be caring about is the +1/+1.

604.1. Static abilities do something all the time rather than being activated or triggered. They are written as statements, and they're simply true.

  • 3
    Re "These kinds of abilities are active as long as their source is on the battlefield", meaning it takes effect as soon as the Shaman resolves (not when it's cast, and not when it "loses summoning sickness").
    – ikegami
    Feb 5, 2015 at 17:41

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .