2

Here is my problem: I made a really awesome Animar EDH deck and one of my infinite combos involves Animar, Soul of elements with 4 +1/+1 counters on it. This will allow me to summon Pierce Strider for free. I would then use Cloudstone Curio's ability in order to bounce back pierce strider back into my hand and virtually allow me to cause 4 points of damage to my opponent infinitely! Can this combo actually WORK!? It says on cloudstone curio that

"Whenever a nonartifact permanent enters the battlefield under your control, you may return another permanent you control that shares a permanent type with it to its owner's hand"

and pierce strider is an artifact but is also a creature. So will this work?

  • Note that instead of Pierce Strider, you can just use any creature that deals damage when it enters the battlefield (like Blisterstick Shaman). You will just need a second creature (any non-artifact creature) to bounce and recast because the creature that deals damage can't bounce itself. – GendoIkari Feb 18 '15 at 21:18
  • 1
    @GendoIkari Oh there are some non-artifact creatures who would disagree, if they had minds that we could fathom. – ghoppe Feb 18 '15 at 21:51
  • 2
    @Gendolkari Would Rattleclaw Mystic work? Morphs only cost colorless mana. So you cast Rattleclaw for free, flip it, bounce it, and repeat for infinite mana (I think). I can't find any morphs that do damage when they flip, but infinite mana seems like the next best thing. – Rainbolt Feb 18 '15 at 22:47
  • 2
    Also, Horde Ambusher works. Cast it for free, reveal a red card to flip it, bounce it, and repeat. Animar becomes arbitrarily large can't be blocked (unless an opposing creature has hexproof, shroud, protection from red, etc.). – Rainbolt Feb 18 '15 at 22:53
  • 1
    @Lohoris Rattleclaw give {R}{U}{G} when it flips and only costs {2} so it will give infinite mana in those 3 colors – diego Feb 19 '15 at 13:36
11

Your combo will not work for two reasons.

Cloudstone Curio never triggers.

Cloudstone Curio triggers when a nonartifact permanent enters the battlefield. Pierce Strider is an artifact, and so it will not cause Cloudstone Curio to trigger.

You must choose another permanent.

Cloudstone Curio says you may return another permanent. "Another" in this case means "not the thing that caused the trigger".

5

There are 2 reasons it doesn't work. One, even though it is a creatures, it is also an artifact, so it fails the nonartifact clause. Second, Curio also says "another permanent", meaning you can't bounce the permanent that just entered the battlefield.

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.