What do you do when you get caught in an Eastern Crows loop? There are three Eastern Crows cards that get shuffled back into the encounter deck every time they're defeated (supposing none are drawn as shadow effect cards). If you go all the way through the encounter deck you will be left with these cards, and then you're stuck in and endless Eastern Crows loop because you never technically empty the encounter deck so you can't reshuffle the discard pile. If you're playing with Thalin it's even worse, because if he's committed to the quest, then he deals one damage to every enemy as it's dealt. So... Eastern crows comes out > gets dealt one damage > goes back in the deck. But it also has the surge keyword:

enter image description here

So one more card is drawn from the deck, and it's Eastern Crows again... and the cycle starts over again...

enter image description hereenter image description here

Dwarf. Warrior. While Thalin is committed to a quest, deal 1 damage to each enemy as it is revealed by the encounter deck.

Forced: After Eastern Crows is defeated, shuffle it back into the encounter deck.

What's the solution here? Do you just play with Eastern crows until the end of the quest?


Thalin's ability fires before the "Surge" keyword can resolve, here's the official FAQ entry:

When an enemy card is revealed from the encounter deck, Thalin’s ability resolves before any keyword or “When Revealed” card effects on the encounter card

  • What about when you're not playing with Thalin? Do you just cycle through the Eastern Crows cards until the end of the game? Or do you have to defend against the crows but not attack until the deck empties in order to shuffle the discard pile?
    – ShemSeger
    Feb 24 '15 at 15:48
  • I guess you could do that, but at that point the game should be easily won by questing anyway. Also, i found this thread on BGG that talks about this exact situation. Feb 24 '15 at 18:11
  • The last post in that thread basically says you're stuck if you get to the end of the deck with 2 or 3 crow cards.
    – ShemSeger
    Feb 24 '15 at 21:21
  • @Shem Why are you stuck? I can see that you might be drawing crows for the rest of the game, but that doesn't break anything.
    – bwarner
    Jun 23 '15 at 21:54
  • @bwarner That's lame. Gamers would call itta glitch.
    – ShemSeger
    Jun 23 '15 at 21:56

Thalin's revealed ability triggers before Surge so Eastern Crows immediately go back into the encounter deck and no surge card is drawn.

As long as the Eastern Crows aren't used as shadow cards, you'll have a pretty easy time with your quest phases for the rest of the game.

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.