Dragons of Tarkir has a new Planeswalker - Narset Transcendent - that, among other things, let's you "look at the top card of your library; if it's a noncreature, nonland card, you may reveal it and put it into your hand".

How does that interact with cards like Maralen of the Mornsong, which says, among other things, "Players can't draw cards"?

1 Answer 1


It only counts as a draw if the effect or rule specifically says "draw." Otherwise, it's just an action that resembles drawing a card. Specifically, Maralen of the Mornsong will not prevent you from putting cards in your hand with Narset.

This is specified by rule 120.5:

If an effect moves cards from a player's library to that player's hand without using the word "draw," the player has not drawn those cards. This makes a difference for abilities that trigger on drawing cards and effects that replace card draws, as well as if the player's library is empty.

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .