If I'm playing Forbidden island with a friend and we have all 4 treasures do we have to have the "Helicopter Lift " card still to leave the island from the launch pad if they are the pilot?

2 Answers 2


Yes. "Fly to a tile" is not the same thing as "discard a Helicopter Lift card". Furthermore, the Pilot's ability specifically limits the flight to another island tile.

The win condition:

Get to Fools’ Landing! Once you have collected all four treasures, everyone must move their pawns to the Fools’ Landing tile. Then, one player must discard a Helicopter Lift card to lift your team off of Forbidden Island for the win!

The Pilot's ability:

Once per turn, fly to any tile on the island for 1 action.

(Emphasis mine)


Yes, even if you have a Pilot, you must still play Helicopter Lift with everyone on the launch pad in order to win the game.

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .