If I am a Navigator and I decide to move my partner can I also assume an action through them also? For example if I move a partner 2 spaces beside a flooded tile can I shore up the piece for an action through them?


The rules list four actions that a player can take on their turn:

  • Move
  • Shore Up
  • Give a Treasure Card
  • Capture a Treasure

Note that Move is an action and Shore Up is a different action.

The Navigator's card text says the following:

Move another player up to 2 adjacent tiles for 1 action.

Since shoring up (or giving a treasure card, or capturing a treasure, or using a special ability that requires an action) is distinct from movement, the Navigator is only permitted to make them do the Move action. I imagine it would say something like "Have another player take 1 action for 1 of your actions" or something if it were allowed.

On the plus side, Navigators are useful for helping other players get in position, and they can move a character 2 tiles instead of the usual 1 that they would be doing on their turn.

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.