1

When a creature card gives another creature counters does the counters go away when the creature that gave them dies.(the card does NOT say It gives is a +1 +1 counter as long as it is on the field)

1
  • 1
    I noticed that you commented with a "Thank you [...]" on one of the answers. If you are satisfied with that answer, accept it by clicking on the check mark next to it.
    – Rainbolt
    Commented Mar 16, 2015 at 19:07

1 Answer 1

6

No, the counters stay where they are. Counters are a separate entity once they are placed on a permanent. If a creature says "other creatures get +1+1" and then leaves the battlefield, the bonus is lost. And if a creature with +1+1 counters on it leaves the battlefield, the counters go away. But in the scenario you described, the counters stay.

3
  • 3
    To be extra clear, permanents that say something like "Creatures you control get +1/+1" don't use counters at all. They just have that effect as long as they're on the battlefield. Similarly cards/effects that say "... get +1/+1 until end of turn" don't use counters. Only cards that actually say "+1/+1 counter" do.
    – Cascabel
    Commented Mar 14, 2015 at 21:22
  • @Jefromi I suppose technically one should mention that there are other kinds of counters, like -1/-1 counters and charge counters. But of course the point you make, that an effect does not use counters unless it includes the word "counter", is a good one.
    – David Z
    Commented Mar 15, 2015 at 4:35
  • @DavidZ Of course, if an effect does use the word "counter", that's no guarantee that it uses counters. :-)
    – deworde
    Commented Mar 18, 2015 at 9:18

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .