When a creature card gives another creature counters does the counters go away when the creature that gave them dies.(the card does NOT say It gives is a +1 +1 counter as long as it is on the field)

  • 1
    I noticed that you commented with a "Thank you [...]" on one of the answers. If you are satisfied with that answer, accept it by clicking on the check mark next to it.
    – Rainbolt
    Mar 16 '15 at 19:07

No, the counters stay where they are. Counters are a separate entity once they are placed on a permanent. If a creature says "other creatures get +1+1" and then leaves the battlefield, the bonus is lost. And if a creature with +1+1 counters on it leaves the battlefield, the counters go away. But in the scenario you described, the counters stay.

  • 3
    To be extra clear, permanents that say something like "Creatures you control get +1/+1" don't use counters at all. They just have that effect as long as they're on the battlefield. Similarly cards/effects that say "... get +1/+1 until end of turn" don't use counters. Only cards that actually say "+1/+1 counter" do.
    – Cascabel
    Mar 14 '15 at 21:22
  • @Jefromi I suppose technically one should mention that there are other kinds of counters, like -1/-1 counters and charge counters. But of course the point you make, that an effect does not use counters unless it includes the word "counter", is a good one.
    – David Z
    Mar 15 '15 at 4:35
  • @DavidZ Of course, if an effect does use the word "counter", that's no guarantee that it uses counters. :-)
    – deworde
    Mar 18 '15 at 9:18

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.