bit of a Magic n00b here. I was wondering, can I use basic lands that are not currently in standard? (eg dragon's maze) I just thought this might be thing as no matter what set ut's in, basic lands do the same.


1 Answer 1


The only thing that matters for card legality is the name. Whether it's a "Forest" or "Grizzly Bears", the set that it was printed in is irrelevant; all that matters is if "Forest" is legal in the current format.

  • 2
    With the usual restrictions on card legality. (Black or white border, rounded corners, not marked, etc) You can even use the lands from the Unhinged.
    – ikegami
    Commented Mar 17, 2015 at 15:06

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .