6

Say my opponent attacks me with a creature. I use a burn spell to deal lethal damage, then he regenerates it. Is it removed from combat at that point or does it still deal damage?

8

Yes, when a creature is regenerated, it is removed from combat.

The exact wording of the rule (701.12a) is

If the effect of a resolving spell or ability regenerates a permanent, it creates a replacement effect that protects the permanent the next time it would be destroyed this turn. In this case, “Regenerate [permanent]” means “The next time [permanent] would be destroyed this turn, instead remove all damage marked on it and tap it. If it’s an attacking or blocking creature, remove it from combat.

-6

If I recall correctly creatures regenerate tapped. That pretty much removes them from combat.

  • 3
    Why would tapped creatures be removed from combat? Heck, I tap my attackers and they are very much in combat. As far as I know I can even defend with an untapped creature (such a tim the prodigial sorceror), blocking an attacker and then tapping it to deal damage. - That tapped Tim still blocks, even if it deals no combat damage. It still is in the fight). So purely on tapped: No. That is not enough. – Hennes Mar 28 '15 at 14:06
  • 1
    @Hennes Note that Tim will still deal combat damage, they removed the rule that tapped blockers don't deal combat damage a while ago – diego Mar 28 '15 at 21:32
  • Ah. I missed that. Then again, I still have decks with interrupts which I play as instants. (Nobody expects the Spanish.... uhm. Nobody expects the red elemental blast). – Hennes Mar 29 '15 at 21:02

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.