3

In our family, we've always interpreted the rules as paying to the bank. We had friends over who had played by Warlord paying to the player whose buildings they got destroyed. To us, it seems like the latter weakened the Warlord special ability quite significantly. I could not find an FAQ that would explain where the money goes.

2
  • 1
    My understanding of the rules is that the warlord pays to the bank
    – user30903
    Apr 5 '15 at 3:31
  • One of those friends that we had over was German (uh-oh), and she checked that the German rules she found at home clearly stated that the money is paid to the bank.
    – StasK
    Apr 7 '15 at 14:55
8

I have two reasons to conclude you pay to the bank:

  1. The rulebook doesn't say that you have to pay to the bank when building a district. This is assumed because it wouldn't make sense otherwise. Similarly, if the rulebook doesn't say whom to pay to destroy, then I assume it must go to the bank.

  2. The warlord can destroy one of it's own district if he wants to replace it. The warlord still has to pay the amount, which then obviously would not go to himself but to the bank.

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.