8

I have yet another timing question:

Elesh Norn, Grand Cenobite enters the battlefield under my opponent's control. I have Teysa, Orzhov Scion on the field with three other white 1/1 creatures.

Normally, the three white ones would die due to Elesh Norn's ability (-2/-2).

BUT can I first sacrifice them with Teysa's first ability in order to remove Elesh Norn from the game?

I am not sure about the timing. Elesh enters the battlefield and his ability resolves. Can I react to that with creatures that would be affected by this ability (-2/-2)?

17

No, you cannot do that.

You cannot target Elesh Norn with Teysa before Elesh is on the battlefield. However, as soon as Elesh is on the battlefield, its static -2/-2 ability is in effect, and your tokens will die as a state-based effect, before anyone gets priority and the opportunity to use regular spells or abilities. Note that Elesh's ability does not resolve, because it does not go on the stack. As long as Elesh is on the battlefield, the ability is permanently active.

| improve this answer | |
  • 5
    If you're simply looking to use the three white 1/1 tokens usefully, you CAN sacrifice them when your opponent announces that he is casting Elesh Norn and then passes priority to you. You cannot target the Elesh Norn since it has yet to hit the battlefield, but you can target another creature if your opponent has one. – Cronax Apr 14 '15 at 14:33
  • Reference: CR 604.1 and 604.2 – ikegami Apr 15 '15 at 14:43

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.