In Coup, if you don't believe someone has a card, you can call them out and they must reveal a card. If that card isn't the one they've said it is, it dies.

However, if it is, one of yours dies.

How is that card chosen?

  • 2
    Nit: They may reveal a card. They need not reveal the card even if they have it; they may simply take the hit in order to keep the card.
    – ikegami
    Apr 13 '15 at 22:08
  • @ikegami That is a very important part and can be a key strategy for winning.
    – Joe W
    Apr 14 '15 at 0:01

You choose the card.

  • This is right, although you don't actually discard you just reveal.
    – ConMan
    Apr 14 '15 at 0:00
  • 1
    @ikegami The card stays in front of you so it is not really discarding it.
    – Joe W
    Apr 14 '15 at 0:30
  • 1
    I have no problem with the idea that discarded cards need not be common, I think it's more that to discard tends to suggest throwing the card away, whereas in Coup when you lose an influence the card stays where it is, but is just turned face up. There's probably also the fact that, to my knowledge, the rules never refer to lost influence being "discarded".
    – ConMan
    Apr 14 '15 at 6:41
  • 1
    Maybe bypass all the debate and just say "turn face-up", the same terminology as the rules? They say "...you lose an influence, turning one of your characters face-up. Face-up characters cannot be used, and if both of your characters are face-up, you're out of the game." And it's kind of important that it's still there face-up, as opposed to being entirely out of the game - people can see what it was and use that to help guess about what other people might have.
    – Cascabel
    Apr 14 '15 at 19:12
  • 1
    @ikegami As you saw in the comments, not everyone understands that standard gaming term in quite the same way as you (some people think "discard" means it needs to physically go somewhere else), so using it created confusion. On the other hand, using the same terminology as the rules tends not to create confusion; not everyone shares your view that calling it "turn face-up" is not a name and inherently wrong and thus confusing.
    – Cascabel
    Apr 14 '15 at 20:13

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.