As I mentioned in another question, I recently got the On-the-Brink expansion and have been a bit puzzled with the BT challenge gameplay. I was looking for gameplay videos but haven't found any..
My question is about when the BT/black -pawn gets placed on the board. The rulebook says it's placed on the board whenever another player is at a city BT is in. So far each time I've played Pandemic, we play the actions as a sequence and not really one-by-one. So while the "good guys" are playing their actions, does the BT have to jump in and put his pawn on the board? What happens if one "good guy" happens to pass by the city BT is in, en route to some other city?
- Player1 starts her turn in city A and wants to treat disease in city D.
- BT resides in city C.
- Player1 moves from A to D; via B and C.
Does BT jump in the gameplay to place his pawn on C, only to remove it again immediately?
Edit: As I stated in a comment below, how the goodies move becomes non-trivial for as the path from one city to another, may involve passing through different cities, even though the number of actions required might be the same.
Example: If a player announces that she's going from Cairo to Karachi, does the BT have to ask "via Baghdad or Riyadh?". Doing so, sort of invalidates the point of secrecy for the BT.