0

This question already has an answer here:

If 2 copies of Gleam of Authority are on the board would that mean that +1/+1 counters would bounce back and fourth to infinity?

marked as duplicate by murgatroid99, Michael Snook, corsiKa, GendoIkari, Guvante Apr 21 '15 at 16:20

This question has been asked before and already has an answer. If those answers do not fully address your question, please ask a new question.

  • You can create links to card by typing [mtg:Card Name] – diego Apr 21 '15 at 14:45
  • Note that this other question is the same as this one, and is already closed as a duplicate of the question I linked. – murgatroid99 Apr 21 '15 at 15:08
  • So if one creature had a 1/1 counter and a 2nd creature had gleam of authority the 2nd creature would get a counter and a third creature with GOA would also get a counter but the 2nd creature wouldn't get a counter for the third creature getting a counter? If that makes sense lol – Daniel Hatton Apr 21 '15 at 17:04
  • No, Gleam of Authority doesn't add counters (except with its Bolster ability), it just grants +1/+1 without using counters, so if the Gleam of Authority is removed from the creature it loses the +1/+1, whereas if it added counters the creature would not lose them when Gleam of Authority is removed. – diego Apr 21 '15 at 17:21
6

No, it would not.

You misunderstood how Gleam of Authority works. Gleam does not place +1/+1 counters on the creature it enchants, it simply gives it +1/+1 for each counter on other creatures. The difference is that counters remain on the permanent they are placed on while the +1/+1 granted by an enchantment disappears when the enchantment is destroyed.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.