Some cards, such as Lurking Informant, have a comma seperating 2 costs for an ability. What does that mean? Do I pay one of the costs or both to use the effect?

  • 5
    The comma is used to separate different kinds of costs (e.g., tapping, sacrificing, mana)
    – Hao Ye
    May 9 '15 at 17:49
  • 1
    @Hao Ye, That's inaccurate. There's only one cost. The comma separates the components of the cost.
    – ikegami
    May 11 '15 at 2:18
  • 2
    @ikegami It IS actually accurate, just perhaps poorly worded. What she means is the different types of costs, as one cost can have multiple types of costs required; in Lurking Informant's case, this is Tapping and Paying Mana.
    – Waterseas
    May 11 '15 at 15:14
  • 1
    @ikegami That's not logic. One cost can have multiple types of costs incorporated into it. It's still correct to say that. An example: Purple is a color that contains multiple primary colors. Am I saying purple IS multiple colors? No. It simply is comprised of multiple primary colors.
    – Waterseas
    May 12 '15 at 15:02
  • 1
    @Ikegami That is indeed another way of saying what I already said. In addition, yet again, your parenthesis are not a correct interpretation of the english used in the sentence, but given the many ways I have tried to explain to you why it is incorrect, I shall not keep trying.
    – Waterseas
    May 12 '15 at 19:08

It's a single cost and you pay both parts. From the Comprehensive Rules:

602.1 Activated abilities have a cost and an effect. They are written as “[Cost]: [Effect.] [Activation instructions (if any).]”

602.1a The activation cost is everything before the colon (:). An ability’s activation cost must be paid by the player who is activating it.

Example: The activation cost of an ability that reads “{2}, {T}: You gain 1 life” is two mana of any type plus tapping the permanent that has the ability.

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.