2

When I use Scion of the Ur-Dragon's ability and put a dragon card from my library into the grave yard, does that trigger Grave Pact?

4

No, Scion puts a dragon card directly from the library into the graveyard. Grave Pact triggers on things moving from the battlefield to a graveyard.

Note the Oracle text on the card has been updated to say 'Whenever a creature you control dies' instead of 'Whenever a creature you control in put into a graveyard from the battlefield', though they mean the same thing:

700.4. The term dies means “is put into a graveyard from the battlefield.”

  • It might help to point out that all actual printings of Grave Pact use the "whenever a creature you control is put into a graveyard from the battlefield" wording, and that that's equivalent to the eratta'd wording. – murgatroid99 May 14 '15 at 19:42
  • Also worth noting that even without "dies" / "from the battlefield", a creature card in your library is not "a creature you control." – GendoIkari May 14 '15 at 23:09
  • @Gendolkari I considered adding that too but didn't feel it was necessary – diego May 14 '15 at 23:39

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.