3

By ability bonus, I mean any quality of an asset at all, not just the "+N" to an attribute. My question centers around how to compound effects on assets. The quick reference explains that weapon "Gain +N to " bonuses do not compound and that you simply pick the strongest one. Does this mean any non-weapon "+" bonus does compound, i.e. from items and allies for instance? Some example questions:

  • If I have 3 assets that each grant +1 to an attribute, do I have +3 (in addition to my best weapon "+" bonus?
  • If I have 3 assets that each say I can reroll a die, do I get 3 rerolls?
  • Is there any other clear case aside from the weapon "+" bonus to attributes where assets are not compounded?
5

1) +N bonuses do not compound. From rules (Section Additional Rules - Tests p.12:

An investigator can use only one card effect that provides a skill bonus during each test (for example, an Asset that reads “Gain +1 [”). If he has multiple card effects that provide a bonus, he uses the highest bonus.

An ally is an asset just like a weapon, so having +1 to Strength from an ally and a +1 to Strength from a gun will result you in having a +1.

2) Yes. From reference guide (Section Reroll):

If multiple effects allow an investigator to reroll a die, he may resolve each effect separately. There is no limit to the number of times a die or test can be rerolled, so long as the investigator has the means to do so.

2
  • Can you tell me where you see that in the rules specifically? I see in the quick reference guide under Tests "He may use one effect that provides a bonus (for example "Gain +3 <will>"). If multiple effects provide a bonus, he uses only the highest bonus. This seems to support your answer.
    – Joey
    May 18 '15 at 16:59
  • I've updated the answer. It's on page 12 Additional Rules -> Tests Last paragraph. It seem the text from reference guide is slightly different and it does not mention a word asset. May 19 '15 at 5:45

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.