8

So me and a buddy of mine got into a argument: he had Setessan Battle Priest out which has heroic

Whenever you cast a spell that targets Setessan Battle Priest, you gain 2 life

Then he played Turn to Frog, which takes all abilities away and makes it a 1/1 Blue Frog until end of turn. He said he gained two life because Heroic triggers from the spell. I said that it took away the ability so it doesn't activate. Who was right?

  • 1
    At the bottom of the page you linked for Setessan Battle Priest, it states "Heroic abilities will resolve before the spell that caused them to trigger." – FreeAsInBeer May 18 '15 at 14:32
12

Yes, Heroic does trigger in that situation, and he does gain the 2 life. This is because Heroic triggers when you cast the spell, before it resolves and has any effects. Basically, it plays out like this:

  1. Your opponent casts Turn to Frog targeting his Setessan Battle Priest. The Priest's Heroic ability triggers. Now there are two objects on the stack: the Heroic ability is on top of the Turn to Frog spell.
  2. The Heroic ability resolves, and your opponent gains 2 life.
  3. Turn to Frog resolves and the Priest loses all of its abilities.

The rulings on Setessan Battle Priest's Gatherer page also mention this:

Heroic abilities will resolve before the spell that caused them to trigger.

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.