6

Suppose that I have Dragon Broodmother, two dragon tokens, and Dragon Tempest on the battlefield. Dragon Broodmother puts a 1/1 Dragon Token with Devour 2 on the battlefield and Dragon Tempest deals damage based on the number of dragons on the battlefield whenever a dragon enters.

My question is, if the new token summoned by Dragon Broodmother devours both dragon tokens, does Dragon Tempest's ability count the devoured dragons in addition to Dragon Broodmother and the new token? Are the devoured dragons still on the battlfield when the triggered ability resolves?

7

No, Dragon Tempest's ability does not see the devoured Dragons when the Dragon token enters the battlefield. As you can see in the reminder text on Dragon Broodmother, the Devour ability says

As the token enters the battlefield, you may sacrifice any number of creatures. It enters the battlefield with twice that many +1/+1 counters on it.

This means that Devour is a replacement effect (CR 614.1c), so it happens at the same time that the token enters the battlefield. By the time Dragon Tempest's ability triggers (and then resolves), the devoured dragons have already been sacrificed.

  • 1
    Ahh, I thought Devour was a triggered ability that would be put on the stack at the same time as Dragon Tempest's ability. Thanks for the answer. – Luke May 21 '15 at 18:13
  • 1
    Luke, what you're thinking would have been templated with the word "When" instead of "As". – corsiKa May 22 '15 at 8:43

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.