5

If I am playing a Sharuum the Hegemon EDH deck, can I let my commander go to the graveyard, exile it under Mimic Vat and then put it into the command zone but still have it imprinted, or does the fact that that is a replacement effect make it so it isn't imprinted.

5

No.

607.2a If an object has an activated or triggered ability printed on it that instructs a player to exile one or more cards and an ability printed on it that refers either to “the exiled cards” or to cards “exiled with [this object],” these abilities are linked. The second ability refers only to cards in the exile zone that were put there as a result of an instruction to exile them in the first ability.

There are no cards in the exile zone, so there is nothing to copy.

  • I'd mention something about not being able to have a cake and eat it too, but that expression never made any sense to me. – ikegami May 26 '15 at 1:29
  • the original quote was "... eat your cake and have it too" some how it got reversed while retaining the original meaning! – esoterik May 26 '15 at 22:00

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.