Suppose I have a card that gives x power to a creature until end of turn, where x is the number of creature cards in the graveyard. And then I take back a creature card from my graveyard using some effect. Does the value of x change along with it?


No, it doesn't.

611.2d If a resolving spell or ability that creates a continuous effect contains a variable such as X, the value of that variable is determined only once, on resolution.

Because you said "until end of turn", I'm assuming that you are talking about casting a spell or activating an ability that has such text, in which case this applies. See Strength of Cedars.

Note that if you have a permanent on the battlefield that says "creatures you have get +x/0, where x is the number of creature cards in your graveyard", then it is a static ability, and the value of x will change every time your graveyard changes. See Wreath of Geists.

| improve this answer | |

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.