As an example, take the Pygmies. "Each time you lose a Pygmy token, roll a reinforcement die and receive as many new Pygmies from storage tray as you rolled pips on the die (up to the number of Pygmies left)."
So if you lose a Pygmy, it goes back to the storage tray and then if you roll a 1 or more you can get it back?
Does this work that way for all races/powers? they always go back to the storage tray (unless another rule says otherwise) and are available for any power/gift that brings them back?