4

For instance Mr. Grumpers from the Kitty Cat faction says

Choose a minion. It has -2 power until the end of the turn

Can a minion be rendered with negative power, or is it always at least zero as one might expect in a realistic attack situation--you know, one of Zombies, Pirates, Dinosaurs and Kitty Cats attacking an alien home world.

Glymmer from the Fairy faction has this power

Talent: Until the start of your next turn, either another minion has -4 power (minimum power 0), OR this minion has +1 power.

Can I play Glymmer, and then, on my next turn, use his talent to force another minion to 0 power, then play Mr Grumpers to send him to -2 because there is no "minimum power 0" clause in Mr. Grumpers?

4

No.

While the core rules don't answer this, it is explicitly covered in the expansions. From the most recent expansion, Pretty Pretty Smash Up, page 12:

The power of a minion not in play is only the number printed on it, but once in play its power includes all modifications. Its power may never go below zero.

| improve this answer | |
  • 1
    So if some minion had a base power of 2, then received both -4 and +2 "buffs" would its resulting power be 0 or 2? The rule you quote seems to indicate it would be 2, though had I been asked the question without the rule bold and in front of me I would have said 0. – AdamP Jun 3 '15 at 15:55
  • It'd end up at 0, because the -4 modifier is still active; the minion's overall power just has a floor of 0. The minion is a 0 power minion, based on a 2-power minion with -4. When the +2 comes in, we look at the modifiers on it, and we find a 2-power minion with -4 +2, making it a 0-power minion. – Samthere Jun 3 '15 at 15:59

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.