While playing Cribbage with a new acquaintance, I led the 9H he played 6D for 15-2 I followed with the 10H for 25, Pone called GO. I then played the 2H and 2D for 29, then called Go. I then counted two for the pair of 2s and one for go. He argued that after a pair or sequence to end the play you could not count the one for go. Is there such a rule that I may have missed?

2 Answers 2


You get one point because he called "Go", not because you played the last card(s).


If a player cannot add another card without exceeding 31, he or she says "Go" and the opponent pegs 1. After gaining the Go, the opponent must first lay down any additional cards he can without exceeding 31. Besides the point for Go, he may then score any additional points that can be made through pairs and runs (described later). If a player reaches exactly 31, he pegs two instead of one for Go.


Your opponent is incorrect. You would score the go as well as the pair, just as you did. Its hard to prove a negative with a rules quote, so I'd say the burden is on your opponent to show anything in the rules that supports his interpretation.

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .