1

If I focus a die, can I free it and reroll it later in the same turn?

The only reference I see in the rules is the following (with something similar in the faq as well):

Note: A player can focus a die only after a failed roll, and he can focus only once during each of his turns.

This, combined with the "Elder Sign: Omens" iOS game's inability to unfocus a focused die makes me feel it may be set in stone once you focus and bar you from freeing it. Is there any supporting ruling otherwise?

1

No. Once focused, a die may only be used to complete a task using its locked side.

This is not specifically mentioned in the rules or the FAQ sheet - however, based on other rulings in the FAQ, it is clear that not being mentioned in the RAW is not considered proof positive that a rule doesn't exist by the creators. Focused dice are especially limited in usage, and they seem to be intended to be used only in a very specific way. I believe you should go with the same ruling as the video game.

| improve this answer | |
  • Thanks for your answer. I added more detail to my post as a result pertaining to what documentation I've found. – Joey Jun 28 '15 at 15:29
  • @Joey After reading the FAQ, I have completely changed my answer. It's still up for interpretation, though. – Southpaw Hare Jun 28 '15 at 17:34

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.