2

If a creature's toughness were to reach 0 before the stack is finished resolving, does it die, or does the stack finish. For example, if a Llanowar Elf had Gigantic growth cast on it and the growth was responded to by Dismember what would happen? Would Dismember bring it to 0 and Gigantic raise it to 3 before it could die? Or does it bite the dust?

  • If you replace Dismember with Lightnig Bolt, the answer is exactly the same. SBA move the creature to the graveyard before Giant Growth raises its toughness. – ikegami Jul 3 '15 at 16:33
  • Note that Dismember lowers the elf's toughness to -4, and Giant Growth would raise it (if it weren't dead already) to -1 so it would still die. – diego Jun 3 '16 at 18:42
5

Yes, the creature would die as a State Based Action.

704.1. State-based actions are game actions that happen automatically whenever certain conditions (listed below) are met. State-based actions don't use the stack.

704.3. Whenever a player would get priority (see rule 116, "Timing and Priority"), the game checks for any of the listed conditions for state-based actions, then performs all applicable state-based actions simultaneously as a single event.

So, the state based effects would get checked after Dismember resolves.

Then, this SBA would happen

704.5f If a creature has toughness 0 or less, it's put into its owner's graveyard. Regeneration can't replace this event.

So, before the Giant Growth would get a chance to resolve, the Llanowar Elf would die.

| improve this answer | |
  • Maybe also nice to mention is that SBAs don't happen during the resolution of a spell or ability so if a creature's toughness becomes 0 but increases again during the same spell it will survive. An example would be casting Windfall with a Maro on the field – Ivo Beckers Jul 4 '15 at 18:45
  • It's also ignoring the fact that a Llanowar Elf with a giant growth on it still dies to dismember :) – Skyl3lazer Jul 5 '15 at 23:10
1

The creature would die and go to the graveyard immediatly.

Others spells targeting it can not resolve themselves so they are like countered, they go to the graveyard too.

| improve this answer | |

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.