5

Last night I played my first game of Agricola and I was amazed how great game it was.

But one thing is not clear to me, when owing Fireplace / Cooking Hearth, can I trade for example 2 x vegetable for 4 food (or for example 3 sheep for 6 food) in one Fireplace ? Or is it allowed to trade only one vegetable / animal for food ? And can I trade vegetables and animals at the same time ?

When I played with my friends yesterday we played so that we can convert as many vegetables/animals for food as we can. But when I reread rules I've noticed line saying:

A player may own several Fireplaces and Cooking Hearths.

So why would I build more Fireplaces / Cooking Hearths if I can convert as many vegetables / animals to food in my turn ?

8

Yes, you can use each as much as you want. The reason to own more than one is mostly if you get a better one later when you could only afford a cheap one earlier; or to deprive other players of them.

  • 4
    Also they are worth points; sometimes there's nothing better to do, especially if you have a clay surplus. – ire_and_curses Jul 6 '15 at 4:24
2

Note also that you're allowed to trade in the fireplace for the cooking hearth, and not have to pay any resources.

There are two reasons you might want both a fireplace and a cooking hearth, or two fireplaces etc.

1. To prevent others from getting them.

2. For points. They're worth one point each.

  • The Major Improvement Cooking Hearth is worth 1 point. – Solocutor Feb 17 '16 at 20:54

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.