6

Bunker's Grenade Launcher power says "Deal 2 damage to a target, may deal 2 damage to another target, may deal 1 damage to another target." Does that imply that each target would have to be unique? Or could it hit the same target multiple times since it doesn't say a DIFFERENT target.

I always played it as 3 different targets, but I'm wondering if the card is intended to give the option to be like a card that reads "Deal 1 target 1 melee damage and 1 fire damage" OR you can split that damage up among multiple target.

8

No, you must select different targets for each set of damage.

In the Sentinels of the Multiverse app developed by Handelabra Studio in cooperation with Greater Than Games, playing Grenade Launcher asks you to select a target for each instance of dealing damage and does not give you the option for selecting the same target(s).

This matches the usual definition of "another". From dictionary.reference.com:

Another (adj):
1. being one more or more of the same; further; additional: another piece of cake.
2. different; distinct; of a different period, place, or kind: at another time; another man.
3. very similar to; of the same kind or category as: What we need today is another Thomas Jefferson.

In general, Sentinels of the Multiverse cards are very literal in their instructions: if it were intended to have an OR, it would have an OR.

  • If it could do damage to the same target it would say do one target damage and then do one target damage. Argent Adept has a card like that and you can hit the same target twice on the mobile app. – Joe W Jul 10 '15 at 15:19
  • 1
    The computerized version has shown me all kinds of cards I was doing wrong in meatspace. It's been very handy for that. – Argyle Jul 10 '15 at 18:51
  • If the same target was allowed, it would be written like Chrono-Ranger's Terrible Tech-Strike: "Chrono-Ranger deals 1 target 2 melee damage. Chrono-Ranger deals 1 target 1 projectile damage." Note how it repeats the phrase "Chrono-Ranger deals 1 target" rather than mentioning another target, meaning it can be the same target if desired. – Thunderforge Jun 21 '16 at 1:48
0

"Deal 1 target 1 melee damage and 1 fire damage" OR you can split that damage up among multiple target.

For the record. I'm fairly certain a card with this reading would require one taget to recieve the melee and fire damage. You are not allowed to split it up into two targets.

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.