3

The Blood Flows mythos card says under its event:

The Lead Investigator discards 1 Monster of his choice and loses Health equal to its toughness

Do I use the monster's current or max health?

6

Toughness is the max health. That's the damage you should take. To clarify, a monster taking damage does not effect its toughness. Once a monster takes damage equal to Toughness, it dies

  • This doesn't seem to answer my question, which was regarding whether mention of a monster's toughness pertained to its current health or max health, not simply how a monster dies. – Joey Jul 12 '15 at 22:15
  • I thought it was implied. Toughness always refers to its max health. I will clarify – link64 Jul 12 '15 at 22:15
  • 2
    I doubt there is a specific ruling for this in the actual rule book. Based on the wording, toughness would refer to the printed toughness or the current toughness based on effects that increase a monsters toughness. Taking damage does not decrease toughness. They die from taking damage equal to their toughness. I'm basing my answer on that understanding – link64 Jul 12 '15 at 22:28
  • 1
    "The Monster loses Health equal to the number of successes rolled. Indicate this by placing Health tokens on the Monster token. When a Monster has lost Health equal to or greater than its toughness, the Monster is defeated and returned to the Monster cup." Doesn't specifically state this but backs you up IMO (p15 rulebook). If toughness changed when the monster was damaged then 5 toughness monsters would die after 3 damage:P But it's pretty clear to me you're adding damage tokens not removing toughness. PS: Picture of toughness on p14 of the rulebook. – joedragons Jul 13 '15 at 21:08
  • 1
    I guess you've also shown that if they wanted something equal to how much the monster had left, they would have said 'the monster's health'. – Joey Jul 14 '15 at 2:48
-1

The 'current toughness' and 'max toughness' are the same thing.

The damage done doesn't reduce the monster toughness.

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.