How does a creature with indestructible end up in the graveyard?
I have been trying to figure this out for a little while.
Board & Card Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for people who like playing board games, designing board games or modifying the rules of existing board games. It only takes a minute to sign up.Sign up to join this community
Indestructible prevents the permanent from being destroyed. This usually is caused by damage exceeding a creature's toughness, or an effect that explicitly says that it will destroy a permanent.
The main ways that a creature with indestructible will die (being put to the graveyard from the battlefield) will be:
Other ways to deal with indestructible permanents that do not cause them to "die" include:
The most common ways:
Toughness reduced to less than zero. (This is neither damage nor a 'destroy' effect.) e.g., Death Wind
The creature's controller is forced to sacrifice it. e.g., All is Dust
Damage dealt with infect is able to kill Indestructible creatures. This is because sources with infect deal damage to creatures in the form of -1/-1 counters, which eventually can reduce the creature's toughness to 0 or less.